Wk 10 – Activity – Student Choice

This week, we were allowed creative freedom to do anything artistic we wanted, whether it be a performance piece or a sculpture, and to this I have to say one thing:

Its about time something like this happened.

I have always enjoyed music. I compose music. It isn’t fantastic, but it is decent enough to entertain my friends, but this spring break I have finally found the time to make something of my time and get back into composing, and this past week I wanted to experiment with using the same melody line to spark different emotions given different frames of context. I usually compose retro 8-bit tunes for small game developers and people’s youtube channels, so it was nice to be able to find the time to experiment!

Each song starts off with a simple intro, then it follows up with the same melody line, followed by a continuation of the song. Yes these songs were a tad formulaic, but I needed to make them formulaic in order to have at least a droplet of scientifically valid proof! Here is what I came up with!

Granted, I’m not very proud of how some of these tunes are somewhat… unpolished, but I had to compose music outside of my comfort zone in order to bring science to this artwork! And I believe I proved within a reasonable doubt that, yes, even if someone is listening to a melody line, the frame of context will help them feel an emotion that can be drastically different from song to song!

This entry was posted in art, music, NES and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

