Wk 8 – Activity – Remix Culture

I have created something beautiful. There is a debate on what is considered “high” art and what is considered “low” art. If what I  created could be considered one or the other, none would doubt the quality of my art. All would consider it to be of the “highest” possible form. Now what is this art I created? A form of art known to many as one of the most intriguing and thought provoking forms of visual and audio media! An art form that has ushered us into a new age of enlightenment!

I have created a “YouTube Poop” of the cartoon “Jace’s Wheeled Warriors”.

In all seriousness, in this post I am going to talk about something called “remix culture”. Technically, remix culture has always existed. Since man has drawn paintings on caves, other people have looked upon these paintings to create their own paintings. Since people have written works of many varieties, people have created their own fan fiction inspired by the original’s creativity.

That is, until copyright arrived. Copyright originated due to the reason that if a person creates a work, they should be allowed to profit off it. Over time, mostly due to lobbying from Disney, it has become a cluttered mess, where someone can’t use a work of fiction for profit until the author’s death PLUS SEVENTY YEARS. That’s an insane amount of time, and ironic considering many of the stories Disney used originated from the public domain.

Personally, I have chosen to allow my work to be protected under a “Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.”, since the original work was made for profit. Now fair use dictates that copyrighted works can be used for educational, and sometimes for non-profit situations. I did not own the original content for my so called “masterpiece”, so therefore I cannot allow it to be used for commercial purposes.

In this project, I learned that windows movie maker is wonderful for creating piles of garbage like the wonderful masterpiece I have created above. All I had to do was use the original video, cut out some content, record/find some various pop culture references, and viola! A masterpiece straight from 2005 is created!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

