Wk 6 – Artist Interview – Mckenzie Stribich

I guess I don’t understand this piece. Maybe I just don’t get it. Maybe I’m not an artist. But in all honesty, I’m just sitting here scratching my head.

What the heck is this art trying to accomplish? If its trying to be deep and philosophical, than congratulations! I still don’t understand it.

These are at least nicely taken photographs. The photos are nice, and somewhat playful, but the description had me confused. Why does this have to be “deep”? Why does this have to have any philosophical meaning when it already fulfilled the purpose of entertaining my retinas? Not all art has to make us see “some mysterious truth about humanity”. Even the things that just bring a little joy to the observers make the world a better place.

Even Freud once said sometimes our dreams don’t have much meaning. In this piece why couldn’t a cigar just be a cigar? I would have enjoyed it all the same.

wk6 artist

This entry was posted in artwork, photography and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment